(Advanced Digital Marketing)
Concepts
Metrics
Web Analytics
Data
Online Research Methods
Analytics & Data Tools
Technology Changes. Economic Laws do not.
Lower search costs for customers.
Lower replication costs for certain digital goods.
Lower transportation costs in transporting digital goods.
Lower tracking costs enabling personalization and targeting.
Lower verification costs of customers’ wishes and firms’ reputations.
These cost reductions make marketing a “testing lab” for understanding broader economic transformations in the digital economy.
E-commerce Platform Design
You’re consulting for an online fashion retailer. They’re debating whether to:
Make all price information visible on product listing pages, OR
Require customers to click into individual product pages to see prices
Focus on the following:
Identify Search Costs: What specific search costs do consumers face in this scenario? Consider both explicit costs (time, effort, clicks) and implicit costs (cognitive load, decision fatigue).
Strategic Implications: How might the firm strategically manipulate search costs to their advantage? What are the potential risks and benefits of increasing vs. decreasing search costs in this context?
Use search cost theory to justify your answer.
You cannot manage what you cannot measure. What gets measured, gets done!
Business Objectives: Answers “What do we want to achieve?”
Goals: Goals are specific strategies you’ll leverage to accomplish your business objectives.
Metric: It is a number.
Key Performance Indicator (KPI): A key performance indicator (KPI) is a metric that helps you understand how you are doing against your objectives.
North Star Metric: The one metric that best captures the core value your product delivers to customers.
Context: grocery ordering and delivery app
\[Profit = Revenue - Cost\]
\[ \begin{aligned} \pi = & p \times (MKTSIZE \times MKTSHARE) - \\ & [c \times (MKTSIZE \times MKTSHARE) + FC] \end{aligned} \]
where \[ \begin{aligned} \pi & = \text{Profit} \\ p & = \text{Unit price of product} \\ MKTSIZE & = \text{Marketing Size (in number)} \\ MKTSHARE & = \text{Market Share (in proportion)} \\ c & = \text{Unit Cost of Production} \\ FC & = \text{Fixed Cost of Production} \end{aligned} \]
For startups, the question of profitability is a difficult one to answer. Therefore, to simplify the complexity of measuring profitability, the focus should be on unit economics. Unit economics is measuring profit on a per unit basis. The unit will be customer.
\[ MC = \frac{C_2 - C_1}{Y_2 - Y_1} = \frac{\Delta C}{ \Delta Y} \]
where \[ \begin{aligned} MC & = \text{Marginal Cost} \\ \Delta C & = \text{Change in Cost} \\ \Delta Y & = \text{Change in Output} \end{aligned} \]
Return on Investment
\[ ROI = \frac{\text{Net Profit}} {\text{Cost of Investment}} \times 100% \] Alternatively,
\[ ROI = \frac{\text{Revenue} - \text{Cost}} {\text{Cost}} \times 100% \]
Measuring ROI of advertising is challenging due to multiple reasons. First, advertising is an investment in the future cash flow; and the benefits often extend beyond the current year. Second, advertising effects are often indirect and difficult to attribute to specific campaigns or channels.
\[ ROAS = \frac{\text{Revenue from Ad}} {\text{Cost of Ad}} \times 100% \]
An Example: If you spend $1,000 on advertising and generate $5,000 in revenue - then your ROAS is \(5000/1000 = 5\). Which is equivalent to 5:1 or 500%. This means you earn $5 for every $1 spent on ads.
Note that ROAS focuses on revenue, not profit. A high ROAS doesn’t guarantee profitability if your margins are low.
\[ MROI = \frac{\text{Incremental financial value generated by marketing}}{\text{Cost of marketing}} \]
\[ e(marketing) = \frac{\text{% change in sales}}{\text{% change in marketing spend}} \]
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) is the total cost of acquiring a new customer, including all marketing and sales expenses divided by the number of new customers gained.
\[ CAC = \frac{\text{Total Marketing and Sales Cost}} {\text{Number of New Customers Acquired}} \]
Transactional Value
Relational Value

Customer Spending
Customer Profitability
Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)
| Stage of the AIDA model | Web analytics | Satisfaction barometer emails received | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Attention/awareness | Present in the top three Google search results for the keywords | Number of unique visitors | Participation rate in the satisfaction questionnaire |
| Interest/quality of experience | Number of external referrals | Average time spent, Number of pages per visit, Bounce rate | Understanding the subject matter |
| Desire/commitment | Percentage of repeat visitors | Measurement of positive vs. negative comments, Recommendation score | |
| Action/intention | RSS feed click rates | Partnership proposal, Cross link request, Recommendation score |

Digital Marketing Funnel
Acquisition: How customers find the firm/brand.
Behavior: How customers interact with the firm/brand (e.g., website, app).
Conversion: What desired actions customers take.
The market for operating system is dominated by three key players namely: Windows, Linux, and Mac with market shares of 60%, 20%, and 10% respectively. If there are 100 million users who use an operating system, calculate the profit generated by Windows if unit price is $10 and unit variable cost (such as distribution and packaging) is $5 and fixed cost is $1 million.
[Hint: Use profit formula and calculate values for each parameter of the formula.]
Wen analytics is the analysis of qualitative and quantitative data from website and the competition.
Web analytics are used to drive a continual improvement of the online experience that customers, and potential customers have.
These customer experiences translate into desired outcomes (online and offline).
Cost per Click (CPC): The amount you pay for each click on your ad.
Cost per Mille (CPM): The cost per 1,000 impressions of your ad.1
Cost per Action (CPA): The cost incurred for a specific action (e.g., purchase).
Cost per View (CPV): The cost incurred each time a video ad is viewed.2
Cost per Install (CPI): The cost incurred for each app installation driven by the ad.
Clicks: Users pressing a link to a digital ad.
Click-through rate (CTR): % of people who click on online ad after seeing it.1
Impressions: The number of times an ad is shown.
Conversion rate: % of users who take a desired action after interacting with ad.2
Reach: Total number of unique users who see an ad.3
Frequency: Average number of times a single user views an ad.
Impression share: The percentage of total impressions that your ad receives compared to the total number of impressions it could get.4
Imagine you run two ads for a new book release.
Ad 1 is shown 20,000 times and receives 200 clicks. 4 users bought the book.
Ad 2 is shown 10,000 times and receives 400 clicks. 4 users bought the book.
Which Ad campaign performed better?
What is your recommendation for future ad campaigns?
General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR)from EU, California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) from California, PIPL Privacy Act from Australia, and Personal Information Protection Law (PIPL) from China are some regulations to protect user data privacy. How do you think implication of this for first-party vs. second- and third-party data.
Definition
A/B testing (split testing) is a controlled experiment that compares two versions of a variable to determine which performs better against a specific goal or outcome.
Core Concepts
Hypothesis: Personalized subject lines will improve open rates.
Name], Check Out These New Products” - 24% open rateGhost advertising is a form of web analytics to measure the effectiveness of an online ad campaign without the user actually seeing the ad. Ghost ads are invisible to users but are tracked to gather data on impressions, clicks, and conversions. This method helps advertisers understand the potential impact of their ads without disrupting the user experience.
Google Analytics track website traffic, monitor user behavior, create performance dashboards, and measure conversion rates.
Google provides the following demo account for practice:
Where preparing report from these analytics platform you can use Looker Studio from Google that updates the information (e.g., summary, charts, graphs) in real-time as data changes in the source.
Create account for Google Analytics using demo account (use Google Merchandise Store as an example for e-commerce site)
Explore key reports: Audience Overview, Acquisition Overview, Behavior Flow
Try Looker Studio to generate a live report for a given period (e.g., last 30 days or last quarter)
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Q&A